Program Description

Nursing education at the practical nursing level and the associate degree level in the North Carolina Community College System is a process that facilitates changes in behavior, the acquisition of knowledge, and the skills, and attitudes necessary to function as an entry-level nurse. The curricula are conceptually based and founded on the principles of adult and collaborative learning. Basic assumptions include self-direction, utilizing adult experiences, previous learning, and problem and activity-centered learning.  The curricula incorporate evidence-based nursing theory and practice, general education, and the sciences in an environment conducive to learning. The conceptual design defines the essential elements as the the environment, quality of life, achievement of potential, and health. The organizing framework contains content related to the individual, healthcare, and nursing.

The nursing programs at Southeastern Community College provide an education that is flexible, progressive, and sensitive to the changing needs of the community, individual, and significant support person(s). Through these educational experiences, students will have the opportunity to develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Learning is a continuous and lifelong process that results in a change of behavior and occurs when the individual is challenged and motivated to enhance personal knowledge. Teaching and learning is an interactive and collaborative process that takes place between the teacher and the learner. The responsibility of the nursing faculty at Southeastern Community College is to to facilitate the the students’ understanding and ability to meet the competencies required for nursing practice through the design and evaluation  of learning experiences. The nursing student is responsible for actively participating in the learning experience and the developing the knowledge, skills, and attitudes necessary to provide quality, safe and effective, individual-centered nursing care.

Course Information

Gainful Employment Registered Nursing

Career Opportunities

Potential employment for students who complete the Associate Degree in Nursing program includes positions within hospitals, clinics, doctor’s offices and other healthcare settings.It is possible that students will have access to various internships, shadowing opportunities and part-time employment positions throughout the pursuit of their nursing degree. Possible mid-degree employment and full-time employment during or upon earning their degree in Nursing includes:

  • Emergency Medication Technician
  • Nursing Assistant
  • Home Health Aide
  • Monitor Technician
  • Caregiver
  • Health Technologist
  • Registered Nurse
  • Licensed Practical Nurse
  • Medical Assistant
  • Pharmacy Technician
  • Social and Human Service Assistant
  • Diagnostic Technician
  • Health Services Manager
  • Nurse Practitioner
  • Phlebotomist
  • Nurse Anesthetist
  • Nurse Midwife

Program Links

LEAD INSTRUCTOR

Al West

Director of Nursing & Health Technologies Division

al.west@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 293

INSTRUCTORS

Gail Auten

Instructor/Nursing

gail.auten@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 243

Karen Biffany

Instructor/Nursing

karen.biffany@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 256

Catherine Cook

Instructor/Nursing

catherine.cook@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 337

Donna Cutrell

Instructor/Nursing

donna.cutrell@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 231

Shalawn Dolly

Instructor/Nursing

shalawn.dolly@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 236

Deana Elkins

Instructor/Nursing

deana.elkins@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 458

Kimberly Fine

Instructor/Nursing

kimberly.fine@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 305

Jessica Hill

Instructor/Nursing

jessica.hill@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 226

Penny Horne

Instructor/Nursing

penny.horne@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 311

Wendy Meares

Instructor/Nursing

wendy.meares@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 307

Myra Thompson

Instructor/Nursing

myra.thompson@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 344

Amy Bowles

Instructor/Nursing

amy.bowles@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 232