Degrees / Certificates / Diplomas Offered

Program Description

This program is comprised of a core of biological sciences, physical sciences and mathematics, in addition to the integration of arts and humanities appreciation. Upon completion, students are equipped to either further their education at a four-year institution in the pursuit of obtaining a baccalaureate degree (or higher), or may enter the workplace.If students plan to further their degree at a four-year institution, they should maintain communication with their desired institution, as well as their advisor at Southeastern to determine which courses are most appropriate and necessary.It is important that students consult with their advisors to plot out the most accurate course plan that will meet necessary general education requirements and obtain the degree that best fits the student’s goals.

Transfer Opportunities

Transfer opportunities: This program  has been developed to complete 60 hours of coursework to apply towards a baccalaureate degree with pathways designed to transfer to specific programs at any of the 16 public  Universities in NC.  Please check the University of your choice for the pathways available.

For those interested in career opportunities associated with an AS degree please read below:

Potential employment for those who acquire an Associate’s in Science may include, but are not limited to:

  • Cardiopulmonary Technologist
  • Cardiovascular Technologist or Technician
  • C.T. Scan Technologist
  • Anesthesia Technician
  • Respiratory Therapist
  • Medical Lab Technician
  • Agricultural and Food Science Technician
  • Forest and Conservation Technician
  • Veterinary Technician
  • Geological and Petroleum Technician
  • Nuclear Technician

Program Links

FACULTY

LEAD INSTRUCTOR

Sara Kathryn Davenport

Division Chair of Arts and Sciences/ Biology Instructor

sara.davenport@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 290

INSTRUCTORS

James Hutcherson

Instructor/Science

james.hutcherson@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 240

Molly Baxter

Instructor/Natural Science

molly.baxter@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 298

Gary Nealy

Instructor/Science

gary.nealy@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 369

Cheston Saunders

Instructor/Science

cheston.saunders@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 242

Mary Revels

Instructor/Math

mary.revels@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 218

Michael Cance

Instructor/Math

michael.cance@sccnc.edu

(910) 642-7141, ext. 280