Degrees / Certificates / Diplomas Offered

Program Description

The Practical Nursing curriculum prepares individuals with the knowledge and skills to provide nursing care to children and adults at a level appropriate for the practical nurse (PN) scope of practice. Students will participate in assessment, planning, implementing and evaluating nursing care.

The graduate of the Practical Nursing Program at Southeastern Community College is prepared to practice as an entry-level practical nurse.The practice of nursing for PN students is directed toward meeting the healthcare needs of individuals throughout their lifespan. Their role is supported by evidence-based clinical practice with the [provision of care for individuals and families i n structured settings. The Practical Nurse (PN) functions in a dependent role under the supervision of the registered nurse (RN) and other health care providers approved by North Carolina law. In accordance with the North Carolina Board of Nursing Administrative Code 21NCAC 36.0225, Components of Nursing Practice for the Licensed Practical Nurse, the LPN accepts assignments that can be safely performed and participates in assessing, planning, implementing, and evaluating the clients response to health care interventions. The PN graduate demonstrates the competencies identified by the National League for Nursing (2010), the National Research Council (2003), and the Nursing Practice ACT of North Carolina (August 2009) to provide safe and effective nursing care. The Curriculum is designed to use learning activities to accommodate various learning styles in a student-friendly learning environment. Acknowledging the existence of different levels of nursing, the faculty is committed to to promoting the concept of life-long learning and facilitating the ease of educational access from one level of nursing education to the next higher level.

Graduates are eligible to apply to take the NCLEX-PN, which is required for practice as a Licensed Practical Nurse.

Course Information

Practical Nursing Readiness Checklist

Admissions and Application Process

Career Opportunities

Potential employment for students who complete the above coursework and for those who receive their licensure include job placement in hospitals, doctor’s offices, clinics and other healthcare settings.

Program Links

LEAD INSTRUCTOR

Kimberly Fine

Director of Nursing & Chair of Health Technologies - RN, MSN

kimberly.fine@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6305

INSTRUCTORS

Deana Elkins

Nursing Instructor

deana.elkins@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6458

Detra Edwards

Nursing Instructor

detra.edwards@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6284

Mirenda Edwards-Prout

Nursing Instructor

mirenda.edwards-prout@sccnc.edu

910-788-6248

Myra Thompson

Nursing Instructor

myra.thompson@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6344

Catherine Cook

Nursing Instructor

catherine.cook@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6337

Penny Horne

Nursing Instructor

penny.horne@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6311

Crystal Best

Instructor/Nursing

crystal.best@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6259

Tammy Faulk

Nursing Instructor

tammy.faulk@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6288

Hope Tyson

Instructor, Nursing

hope.tyson@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6256

Jessica Hill

Nursing Instructor/Assistant Chair

jessica.hill@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6226

Gail Auten

Nursing Instructor

gail.auten@sccnc.edu

(910) 788-6243